Bridges and Bubbles

The name’s Setter, Jet Setter. One morning I’m dipping my toes in the Pacific ocean, and flying over the Atlantic that afternoon. Then I’m taking a swim in the Mediterranean Sea the next day. My California jobs keep switching cities from LA to San Fran to the point where I can hardly keep track of myself, but saying “it’s been good” is an understatement.

About a week ago I flew to San Francisco for an E-commerce job with Old Navy. I had a great conversation with my seat partner on the flight who gave me some tourist information about the city as well as introduced me to podcasts (which is now my new thing. Open to suggestions about good ones!) I had two days of work with a great team. They were the nice and happy sort of people you would expect from Old Navy. Another fun part about the job is throughout the day all sorts of kids came in to shoot as well. They grew throughout the day from babies to ten-year-olds. It added to the happy atmosphere on set. On the second day, the studio hired a guy to come in and make ice cream tacos for everyone too, so spirits were high.

DSC01896 DSC01902 DSC01916 DSC01920

My flight leaving San Fran to Paris was in the late afternoon, so I was lucky enough to take advantage of some tourist time. I walked through Union Square out to the coast and saw the Bay Bridge, then walked all around the coast over towards the Golden Gate Bridge. Along the way I saw Alcatraz island, a few cute chowder stands, a few marinas, and even an inlet with a crowd of sea lions! There were some beautiful trails near the Golden Gate that I followed for a while, but unfortunately had to cut my exploring short and head out to the airport. On the way back I stopped at the Palace of Fine Arts and continued on through the city trying to avoid the giant Knob Hill I encountered on a coworker dinner the first night.

DSC01950 DSC01955 DSC01966

After one night in Paris for a 4-hour Dior fitting and an 11-hour sleep I hopped on a plane to Nice, FR (pronounced as “niece” not “nice” FYI) and found a friend on the way to our hotel in Cannes. Waleska and I met up with a few other girls to spend our first day touring around Cannes. We walked along the coast to the Old Town which has a big church and museum on a hill overlooking the city. It all felt like a tropical version of Paris to me. Similar architecture, but more colors and more plan trees. Then we went for a swim in the sea and headed to dinner at the hotel.

DSC01969 DSC01973 DSC01982 - Version 2

My alarm went off at 6:00AM and I was in a car by 6:15 heading to the Bubble Palace (or Villa Palais Bulles in French) for the Dior Cruise 2016 show. I went early with one other girl to do the hair/make-up demo before all the girls got there around 7. It was a perfect chance to catch the sun rising as we walked into the showspace. The backstage was indoors for getting ready, but the only rule about going outside once we were ready and in between shows was to stay in the shade. We did our best to obey, and found a small ledge to sit on behind a palm tree after exploring the exterior of the building, where we spent most of the day.

DSC01991 DSC02003 DSC02021 DSC02042

We did the show three times. The first was for photographers only, and we did it twice to make sure they had good pictures. The next two shows were for clients and guests only. One in the afternoon, and one in the evening. After the last show there was a cocktail party in the show space that we were all invited to attend. It was good because we finally got a chance to walk around inside the building (although I still never saw any enclosed rooms). During the cocktail party a boat in the bay set off a spectacular fireworks display that filled the entire bay! Quite frankly, the best fireworks I’ve seen. Afterwards we went back to the hotel to try and track down dinner before the after party. It turned out that Dior had a restaurant set for dinner for us not far from the hotel. I walked in with four other girls and we scored a table in the VIP room and watched all the Dior people celebrating all around us over a delicious meal. Finally, we made it to the after party (about 1:00AM at this point). After dancing for a few hours we made our way back to the hotel to catch a few winks before flying back to New York.

DSC02043 DSC02055 DSC02059 DSC02081

Well, Jet Setter is off. Got a flight to San Fran to catch. Spending the day there tomorrow, Friday in LA, Saturday in San Fran, then back to New York? Who knows, maybe next week it’ll be Helsinki!

2 thoughts on “Bridges and Bubbles

  1. So many awesome things! I’m glad you’ve had some chances to enjoy yourself, see sights, relax, and socialize amidst all of your work!

  2. Love your bird in flight photo. Our modern world is remarkable that you can be 1/2 a world away in a day, and that I can sit in my boss’ office and watch you live as you walk through Pierre Cardin’s house. Keep the updates coming!

Leave a comment