Drip Drip Drop Little April Shower

IMG_3336For the most part Spring came on suddenly and beautifully in New York. Last year I went home for graduation at this time, but this year I am enjoying watching all the leaves unfold and all the apple blossoms bloom throughout the city, and the people come out of their apartments like ants out of a disturbed hill. One day I was able to meet up with one of my roommates from Milan who is here until June. It was the first beautiful day of the year and we enjoyed some frozen yogurt in Washington Square Park with ALL of New York. Of course, along with the beautiful Spring comes rain stories.

Monday I had seven castings, all over the place. The moment I stepped out the door a gust of wind caught my umbrella and flipped it. Aiming it towards the wind, I attempted to use it as more of a shield than a cover, peaking around it occasionally to make sure I wouldn’t run into any oncoming umbrella-weilders. When I got to Brooklyn near the river the wind and rain was out of control. IMG_3351I spent more time trying to keep my umbrella turned the right way than I did walking toward my destination from the subway station. It kept flipping and flopping and folding in until I gave up, already drenched. After that very wet casting, I had a small break before the next. I decided the best thing I could do was sit in the station nearest to where I needed to go and let the wind from the passing trains dry my dripping hair. It worked surprisingly well!

11084747_1827139437511481_1205476623_nMy second rain story comes from yesterday. I did a presentation for Club Monaco in a townhouse on the Upper East Side. The house was an incredible four-story $29 million place with a big backyard and a large team of security. For the event there was a team of catering, a bar, and a few jazz musicians as well. We were set to do the presentation in the back garden, but of course it rained. It wasn’t the horrible windy rain of earlier in the week, and I think the umbrellas added a nice touch actually!

The end of last week and weekend was bridal fashion week. I’ve never been around for this season either, but I’m happy to have participated this time! I was able to do three shows. Monique Lhuillier, Marchesa, and Amsale. Of these, my favorite was Monique Lhuillier. 11111508_1053355258027958_2012316760_nAt the fitting she was so happy with me in the looks that she asked if I had any sisters or cousins. I said I have both, but they’ll need some tall heels! One of the gowns I wore turned out to be the hit of the show. It was a light pink gown straight out of fairyland. Not what I would choose, but definitely a great piece to get a chance to wear! After the show Monique’s niece and a few of her friends came backstage and wanted their photo with me. I felt like I was a princess at Disneyworld for a moment.

11116887_649773438456159_433842865_nYes, the gowns are long, and yes, difficult to walk in. But, I’m glad to have had the practice with them, and I hope I get rehired for something like that again!

2 thoughts on “Drip Drip Drop Little April Shower

  1. You’re a good writer Eliza, fun descriptions (“like ants out of a disturbed hill”). And, your sister would actually need stilts, not just high heels, to be a runway model!

Leave a comment